Jhivvan Jackson and Keaton Wallace named to NABC All-District teams

Ryan Garza, Sports Editor

Julia Maenius/The Paisano
UTSA men’s basketball junior guard Keaton Wallace guarding a UAB Blazer at the Conference USA Championships. Wallace was named to the NABC All-District team for the second consecutive season.
Julia Maenius/The Paisano
UTSA men’s basketball junior Jhivvan Jackson looks to juke out a defender and get open to take a shot. The Roadrunners fell the UAB Blazers in the first round of the Conference USA Championships in Frisco, Texas.

For the second consecutive season, juniors Jhivvan Jackson and Keaton Wallace have been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District team. 

Jackson had a record-setting season for the Roadrunners by climbing to number one on the all-time career scoring list for UTSA, scoring the most points in a single season for a Roadrunner, leading the nation in total points this season and ranking second in the nation for scoring average with 27.2 points per game. 

Averaging 5.8 rebounds per game and 27.2 points per game was good enough for Jackson to earn the NABC first team all-district honors. Wallace scored 18.8 points, 4.5 rebounds and 3.1 assists per game, which earned him NABC second team all-district honors. 

Wallace was voted by the league’s coaches and media to the second team All-Conference USA team for the second consecutive season. 

The NABC was founded in 1927 by former University of Kansas head coach Forrest “Phog” Allen. The organization is responsible for starting the original Basketball Hall of Fame and helping create the current format for the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship.