UTSA soccer wins Conference USA championship

Roadrunners win first C-USA in program history

Luke Lawhorn, Sports Editor

No. 6 UTSA defeated No. 5 FAU 3-2 in double overtime in the Conference USA championship match on Sunday afternoon. The Roadrunners beat No. 3 seed UAB and No. 2 seed North Texas en route to win the first C-USA championship in program history.

Marlee Fray scored two of the ‘Runners three goals. The first came in the 32nd minute in the low center to put UTSA up 1-0. Kiran Singh scored in the 36th minute off an assist from Sabrina Hillyer to go into halftime up 2-0. Both teams had six fouls and two corner kicks at the half.

The Owls answered with two goals in the second period. The first came in the 55th minute as Morgan McDonald scored off an assistant from Bri Austin. McDonald assisted on the second goal which came in the 68th minute by Elin Simonardottir to tie the game. The two teams went to overtime where Fray scored her second goal with a header into the goal off a Isa Hernandez corner kick. 

FAU had 12 fouls in the second period to UTSA’s four. The two teams went into a second overtime giving the Owls a chance to tie the game. The Roadrunners defense stood tall and secured the 3-2 win. 

UTSA was outshot 15-8 by FAU, 6-4 on shots on goal, and had eight corner kicks to the Roadrunners four. The ‘Runners goals went through the net and their nationally ranked defense held down the field when the time came. 

The Roadrunners looked as if their season wasn’t meant to be, finishing 11-5-4 and having a 4-3-3 C-USA record. UTSA closed their regular season 3-1 and carried that momentum by upsetting every team they played and advancing to the semifinals and championship match for the first time in program history. The UTSA Roadrunners 2022 team will go down in history as C-USA champions.