SGA announces Spring 2023 election results

Gauri Raje, News Editor

Results for the spring 2023 Student Government Association elections were announced last Friday.

A total of 578 students, or 1.82% of the student body, participated in the elections — a drop in voters compared to last year’s 2.45% participation.

Zachary Nepote, who ran uncontested, was elected president. Nepote secured 78.54% of all votes cast. 16.43% of students chose to abstain, while 5.01% of votes went to write-in candidates. 

College for Health, Community and Policy Senator John Quiroz received 311 votes or 53.8% percent of the total votes cast and was elected vice president. Eva Lin, a College of Business senator, received 209 votes, while 9.16% of participating students chose to abstain, and 0.86% voted for write-in candidates.

Arnas Budreckis, who also ran uncontested, was elected treasurer with 80.44% of the total votes.

Senators for the university’s various colleges and classifications were also elected. 

A full list of the winners can be found on the organization’s Instagram @utsa_sga.